HP OpenVMS Systems

ask the wizard
Content starts here

PURGE ALL not really ALL?

» close window

The Question is:

We have observed a change in the behavior of the PURGE/CONFIRM command after
 upgrading to VMS 7.3. As shown, replying "All" under VMS 7.1-1H2, only applies
 to the specific associated filename (this is the preferred behavior), while
 under VMS 7.3, replying
 "All" purges all the files. Was the change in the behavior of this command

The Answer is :

  On nothing more than the description here, the older behaviour
  certainly looks unexpected and invalid.  The input command ALL
  was not really processed as ALL files, after all.
  Please note that V7.1-2 contains repairs for number of problems
  that were found in V7.1, V7.1-1H1, and V7.1-1H2.  Please upgrade
  to at least V7.1-2 (or later).

answer written or last revised on ( 13-DEC-2001 )

» close window