HP OpenVMS Systems

ask the wizard
Content starts here

DCL Command Line Definitions (CLDs) for all user

» close window

The Question is:

I would like to use "Set Command" to make a .CLD file a global command for
all users.  The only way I have been able to get it to work is by inserting
it in the login.com for each user.  How do I make it global?

The Answer is :

  The method to do this is quite simple, and, most of the time it is
  perfectly safe. However, you need to use some caution as mistakes can
  cause fairly severe trouble either immediately or in the future. Please
  read and understand the warnings and notes before attempting to update
  These commands will update the system wide DCLTABLES:
  WARNING 1: Before attempting the above commands (on OpenVMS versions
             prior to V6.2), execute the following commands:
	     Ensure that DCLTABLES is in SYS$COMMON:[SYSLIB]. If there is
	     a copy in SYS$SYSROOT:[SYSLIB], please contact your local
	     customer support centre for assistance.
	     Ensure the figure is larger than the size of DCLTABLES.EXE
	     Ensure there are sufficient global sections free. DCLTABLES will
	     use 1.
	     Failure to ensure adequate resources prior to the INSTALL command
	     will result in blocking all logins to the system and will require
	     a reboot to fix.
             On OpenVMS V6.2 and later, the INSTALL utility verifies
	     sufficient room for the new DCLTABLES before removing the
	     old DCLTABLES image.
  WARNING 2: Please make sure you enter the file name in the SET COMMAND
             command as SYS$COMMON:[SYSLIB]DCLTABLES (*precisely* as
             shown above). Failure to do so WILL cause problems with future
             installations and upgrades.
  Note 1: Only new processes will see the new commands automatically
  Note 2: Existing processes can use the command:
	  to make the new commands available without logging out and in again
  Note 3: Each time this procedure is executed, a delete pending global
          section will be created. They will remain until all processes using
	  that copy of DCLTABLES are terminated. GBLPAGES and GBLSECTIONS will
          not be freed until the global sections complete deletion.
  Note 4: Do NOT purge DCLTABLES.EXE from SYS$SHARE until you KNOW that all
	  processes using that copy of DCLTABLES have terminated.  Since
	  there is not simple way of determining this, the best approach is
	  to wait until after the next system reboot.
          Deleting DCLTABLES while still in use will result in a "lost"
	  file remaining on the disk, as the file will be retained in a
	  "marked for delete" status.  To recover from this (wasteful but
	  otherwise harmless) condition, use the ANALYZE/DISK/REPAIR

answer written or last revised on ( 4-APR-2000 )

» close window