HP OpenVMS Systems Documentation

Content starts here
HP OpenVMS Version 8.3 Upgrade and Installation Manual > Chapter 4 Before Upgrading the OpenVMS Operating System

Saving Files from Being Deleted by the Upgrade

  Table of Contents

  Glossary

  Index

The upgrade procedure deletes archived files that were saved with the _OLD file extension on OpenVMS Alpha or I64 systems and any files you might have added or modified in the SYS$EFI.SYS boot partition on OpenVMS I64 systems. You can save these files from being deleted, as described in the following sections.

Saving Archived Files

By default, the upgrade procedure deletes files that were archived as filename.type_OLD by OpenVMS remedial kits. If you do not want these files deleted, you can rename them before you perform the ugprade. Alternatively, you can have the upgrade procedure save them by responding to the prompts, as described in “Saving Archived Files”.

Saving Files Added or Modified in the SYS$EFI.SYS Boot Partition (OpenVMS I64 Upgrades from Version 8.2 Only)

When you upgrade the system disk directly from OpenVMS I64 Version 8.2, the upgrade removes the old SYS$LOADABLE_IMAGES:SYS$EFI.SYS file and replaces it with a new one. When you upgrade from OpenVMS I64 Version 8.2-1 or higher, the upgrade preserves this file instead of replacing it; therefore, if you are upgrading from OpenVMS Version 8.2-1 or higher, you can disregard this section.

SYS$LOADABLE_IMAGES:SYS$EFI.SYS is the storage area for the boot partition used by the Integrity server EFI console. When you upgrade the system disk from OpenVMS Version 8.2, any files that were in this partition before the upgrade are deleted. Thus, in the unlikely event that you have added or modified files in the boot partition (you would have used EFI commands to make these changes), you must first store copies of these files off of the system disk before completing the upgrade, and then copy them back to the partition after the upgrade is complete. Be careful not to confuse these files with any boot options that you might have added or modified in the EFI Boot Manager menu; the boot options are entirely separate from the boot partition and are not removed by upgrades.